Yoga- Feed your spirit!

August 15,2016

Life is a cycle of birth, growth, evolution and death.
What we feed ourselves physically, mentally and emotionally, determines how our body, which is made up of atoms, protons, neutrons, blood and bones, can evolve.

As a Yoga teacher, I recommend eating foods that make you feel calm, peaceful and strong. Asanas help to cleanse the body and its various systems internally. However, this treatment is ongoing and should extend beyond the doors of your Yoga class to attain a true state of Yog. Our body, after all, is the temple of our soul.


According to the science of Ayurveda, you are the product of what you eat, how and why you eat and when and where you eat. Ayurveda explains that food should be eaten mindfully and with gratitude, and that it must be fresh, of the highest quality, digestible, delicious, lovingly prepared and satisfying to your senses. Ayurveda offers a simple approach to preparing, eating and digesting your food based on your unique body type or 'Dosha'. Foods and herbs and their qualities affect the elemental 'Doshas' (Mind - Body  combinations) of 'Vata', 'Pitta' and 'Kapha'.

Vata is made of Air and Ether. Vata is light, cold, dry, rough, clear and mobile.

Pitta is made of Fire and Water. Pitta is light, hot, oily, sharp, clear and mobile.

Kappa is made of Water and Earth. Kapha is heavy, cool, wet, soft, dense andstatic. 


The six tastes that are recognised in Ayurveda are sweet, sour, salty, bitter, pungent and astringent. Each taste has qualities associated with it that will either increase or decrease the Doshas. As an example- sweet is heavy, sour is moist, salty is warm, bitter is cold, pungent is hot and astringent is dry. No wonder most cultures have different cuisines for different seasons based on their geographical locations.


To put all this into a simple context, just as we clean up externally by having a bath, we clean our bodies internally by the practice of 'Asanas'. We cleanse our nerves by practicing 'Pranayama' and 'Dhyaan'. We keep our minds clean by practicing 'Niyam' and 'Yam' and 'Dharana'. We maintain emotional discipline by adopting 'Pratyahara’. These are the seven limbs of Yog that are necessary to reach the eighth limb, which is the state of 'Samadhi' that we all seek and ultimately attain at some state of our evolutionary cycle.


Eating healthy and nourishing food gives us a sense of being nurtured and safe. Our mothers are the first to feed us as soon as we are born and this is why food always represents that sense of nurturing that we subconsciously relate mainly to our mothers. It is so important to eat with awareness and with love for oneself just as our mothers only fed us with good food out of love for us.


This brings me to the important issue of self love.
Would we ever feed our beloved ones rotten or spoilt food?
Or would we ever wish that anyone we love should fall sick?
It's really a rhetorical question as the answer is naturally in the negative. So when we feed ourself food that has no nutritional value or that is highly artificial or refined, it is a statement that we are neglecting to nurture ourselves.


Man's greatest disease today is depression and this comes from a lack of self love, self care and depriving oneself of basic nurturing in some form or the other.


So the next time you wish to eat anything that's not fresh or not good for you, examine where this need is coming from and what you truly are seeking.


I do believe Yog helps to neutralise the nerve impulses rationalising our cravings and creates a yearning to cleanse our minds and bodies. And Yog is not just the practice of asanas, but the practice of life... emotionally, ethically, principally, mentally and finally on the spiritual realm.


Feed your spirit, dear ones...

Article By : by trisha maharaj singh


No comments found !

Leave a reply